top of page
Discover Architecture through Stories & History
Dickson Post Office - North Main Street
From the late 1800s until 1937, the post office (shown above in 1905) was located on the east side of North Main Street in the Henslee Building, next to the alley, the site later occupied by Fussell’s Shop.
Pictured are A.L. Scott (postmaster 1897-1916), center, with postal employees Frank Bright on his right and Juanita Scott Wilson on his left.
During Scott’s time as postmaster, the post office was a busy place because everyone in town came to Main Street for their mail, there being few mailboxes and no street delivery at the time.
Free mail delivery began on June 1, 1921
Photo and text provided by Alan Ragan
bottom of page